DRY EGG CURRY

ec1

Its been more than 10 years and I still remember that day, my to be Mother-in-Law was in the hospital and that’s where I was called by In-Laws to first see me. It was nothing serious my Mom-in-law had some stones and those were removed, so a light after-surgery day. It was a short notice, I being myself, I didn’t even once think of going to a salon to get the facial, I instead thought of something else.

My mom has always taught me to take fruits or flowers for someone you go to meet at the hospital. We being punjabis ; Fruits is a big no no. I mean Punjabis do not eat Apples and Oranges when assisting someone at the hospital. I did, however, take fruits and flowers, I just added some aloo parathas and egg curry to it. I knew the Hospital cafeterias are pathetic and they might be bored of eating Dalias and Khichidies. 

IT WORKED WONDERS , they absolutely loved it !!! I didnt know my Father-in-law was a big foodie.  He still remembers it and asks me to prepare it for him. You too impress your loved ones. See the recipe below :

ec2

Ingredients:
Oil – 2 tbsp
Onion – 1 Large, finely chopped
Tomato – 1 cup – finely chopped
Ginger Garlic Paste – 1 tsp
Cumin Seeds – ½ tsp
Turmeric – ¼ tsp
Coriander Powder – 1 tsp
Rajmah Masala – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste
Chili powder – 1/4 tsp
Garam Masala – a pinch (optional)
Eggs – 6, hard boiled and peeled
Cilantro – chopped 1/4 cup

For Making the Dry Curry :  I know that’s an oxymoron I used but what else do I call it 

  • Boil Eggs separately.
  • Heat Oil in a skillet or a pan on medium flame.
  • Add Cumin Seeds, when the cumin seeds popup, add onions and saute.
  • When the onions turn brown, add Ginger-Garlic paste. Saute for another minute or so.
  • Then add tomotoes to it.Add salt, Turmeric, Coriander Powder want to and cook well.Add half the cilantro.
  • Add some Rajmah Masala now.
  • Cut eggs the boiled eggs into halves and slide the gravy on top of them.
  • Garnish the dish with the remaining Cilantro leaves.

Tips:

  • It is a dry dish so the onion and tomato dry gravy should be fully cooked before you serve.
  • Add eggs only after you are done cooking.
  • I used chopped Onions and Tomatoes to make this 11 years ago. For the ones in the picture I used onions and tomato paste blended in the blender. Either way works out good.
  • If you don’t want to use Rajmah Masala – add Bhuna Jeera powder -1/4 tsp, a pinch of black pepper powder and a pinch of Garam Masala.
  • You can add 2 tsp of yoghurt (optional) after the onion tomato paste is half cooked.

ec3

One Comment

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, yet
    I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like
    yours. It’s lovely worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content as you did, the web shall be much more
    useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

